Institut de Biologie StructuraleGrenoble / France

Contact person(s) related to this article / CAVORET Odile


The IBS was founded in 1992 by the CEA and the CNRS recognizing the importance and impact of structural biology to understand fundamental biological mechanisms. In 1999, the Université Joseph Fourier (now part of the Université Grenoble Alpes) joint the UMR (Unité Mixte de Recherche).

The past directors of the IBS were:

  • Professor Jean-Pierre Ebel in 1992
  • Professors Pierre Vignais from 1992 to 1994
  • Professor Michel van der Rest from 1994 to 2001
  • Professor Roland Douce from 2001 to 2004
  • Professor Eva Pebay-Peyroula from 2004 to 2014

The current IBS building founded by Prof. Eva Pebay-Peyroula, was inaugurated in 2014 on the EPN Science Campus and physically regroups all major activities in structural biology on the same campus in Grenoble. This building brings together16 groups and 9 platforms.
In addition 2 groups, 3 platforms and the Mixed Service Unit ISBG are located in the Carl-Ivar Brändén Building (CIBB).