Institut de Biologie StructuraleGrenoble / France

Contact person(s) related to this article / BLACKLEDGE Martin / BOYER V. / BREYTON Cécile / RAMON Josephine / WEISSENHORN Winfried


Director: Winfried WEISSENHORN, Professor University Grenoble Alpes
Assistant: V. BOYER
Deputy Directors: Cécile BREYTON; CNRS Research Director - Martin BLACKLEDGE; CEA Research Director
Head of administration: Josephine RAMON


The IBS is a mixed research unit (UMR) jointly operated by two French national research agencies (the CEA and the CNRS) and the University Grenoble Alpes (UGA).
Scientific and institutional decisions are taken by the Comité de Direction (CDR), which includes the director, the deputy director, the administrative director and the group leaders of IBS, who meet 10 times per year. The Directors also work closely with the Conseil d’Unité (CU), which is composed of nominated and elected members representing all IBS staff.
The Scientific Advisory Board (SAB), composed of 6 scientists and the executive scientific advisors of CEA Sciences meet every two years in order to advise the director on the scientific program of the IBS.


The mission of the IBS is to develop research in integrated structural biology to address questions in basic and applied science. The research themes at IBS are organized in three programs with multiple interactions between the different programs to foster collaboration within IBS.
• Infection and Molecular Medecine
• Membrane Signaling and Transport
• Frontiers in Biophysics and Chemistry for Structural Biology

The researchers, professors, engineers, technicians, students and administrative personnel pursue the same goals:
• Excellence in scientific production based on multidisciplinary approaches
• Development of new innovative methods for integrated structural biology
• Explore the interface of basic and applied science
• Training of young scientists


The IBS is located on the European Photon and Neutron (EPN) campus together with its European partners, the EMBL (European Molecular Biology Laboratory), the ESRF (European Synchrotron Radiation Facility), and the ILL (Institute Laue-Langevin). This unique site provides access to state of the art equipment to analyze biological systems at different scales of resolution.