Institut de Biologie StructuraleGrenoble / France


Hélène Malet appointed Junior Member of the Institut Universitaire de France (IUF)
Hélène Malet, Associate Professor at the University Grenoble Alpes and research scientist in Dr. Guy Schoehn’s Methods and Electron Microscopy group at IBS, was appointed Junior Member of the Institut Universitaire de France (IUF) beginning from October 1, 2020 for a period of five years. Hélène is recognized for her work on viral proteins involved in viral replication and transcription, in particular viral polymerases (details).

ICMRBS Founders’ Medal awarded to Paul Schanda
The International Council on Magnetic Resonance in Biological Systems (ICMRBS) awarded the 2020 Founders’ Medal to Paul Schanda (IBS/NMR). This prestigious award was established in 2002 by the ICMRBS to recognize exceptional contributions by young scientists to the development and progress of the field of magnetic resonance in biological systems. Paul is is recognized for his achievement in developing solid-state NMR techniques for studying protein dynamics and applying these techniques to understand membrane protein transporters, chaperones, and enzyme complexes (details).

Paul Schanda receives Varian Young Investigator Award
The EUROMAR committee awarded the Varian Young Investigator prize to Paul Schanda (IBS/NMR). This prestigious award was created in honour of Russel Varian, a pioneer in NMR spectroscopy, to recognize a single investigator within the first 12 years of his/her independent career, for achievements in any area of magnetic resonance.
This award recognises Paul Schanda’s methodological developments to characterise the dynamics and structure of proteins in solid and liquid states. Some of the methods developed by his team are widely used to monitor, for example, the kinetic processes of proteins, or to detect transient conformational states (details).

Kirill Kovalev, IBS Young Scientist 2020
Kirill Kovalev, of the IBS Membrane Transporters Group, is the recipient of the IBS Young Scientist of the Year Award for his publications since June 2019 on the structure of membrane proteins, in particular microbial rhodopsins.
This prize is awarded every year by the IBS group leaders and presented during the annual Scientifc Day, during which the recipient is requested to give a talk. As the IBS Day was cancelled in June 2020 due to the sanitary situation, this prize was presented during the 02/10/20 IBS seminar.
To know more : Sci Rep​. 9(1):18547 (2019) ; Nat. Commun​. 10, 4939 (2019)​ ; Crystals.​ 10, 6 (2020) ; ​PNAS​. 117, 8 (2020), Nat. Commun.​ 11, 2137 (2020)

Solène Besson, winner of the ’Silab-Jean Peaufique’ corporate foundation prize
Solène Besson, PhD student in the ’Adenovirus’ team of Pascal Fender (MEM group) is the 2020 winner of the ’Silab-Jean Peaufique’ corporate foundation prize. The objective of this Foundation is to provide active and constant support to fundamental and applied research in the diagnosis, prognosis and treatment of dermatological pathologies, and more particularly, skin cancers. Solène Besson will be financially supported for three years to carry out her experiments in the field of melanoma immunotherapy.